The annual ‘Staff Excellence Awards 2018’ presentation ceremony was held today at the Multipurpose Hall, Universiti Teknologi Brunei. The Guest of Honour, Yang Berhormat Dato Paduka Awang Haji Hamzah bin Sulaiman, Minister of Education presented the awards to the recipients.

Also present were Datin Paduka Dr. Hajah Romaizah binti Haji Mohd Salleh, Deputy Minister of Education; Dr. Awang Haji Azman bin Ahmad, Acting Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Education; Rector of Universiti Sultan Sharif Ali; Acting Vice-Chancellor of Universiti Brunei Darussalam; and Acting Deputy Permanent Secretary at the Ministry of Education.

The ceremony began with the recitation of Surah Al-Fatihah and Doa Selamat led by Imam Haji Malik Bin Haji Jumat, Mosque Affairs Officer, followed by a Welcoming Speech by Professor Dr. Dayang Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman, Vice-Chancellor of UTB.

UTB introduced the Staff Excellence Awards in 2015 to recognise and reward the outstanding and valuable contribution of staff to the success of the University in achieving its strategic goals.

This year, two (2) staff received the Excellence Awards and six (6) received the Special Mention in the respective categories for Teaching, Research and Administration. Each recipient of the Excellence Awards received a plaque, certificate of recognition and cash prize of $1,000.00. Those receiving the Special Mention received a certificate.


The recipients of the Staff Excellence Awards and Special Mention are as follows:


  1. Teaching Excellence Award
    1. For the Faculty of Engineering
      Dr Shariar Shams (Assistant Professor)
    2. For the School of Computing and Informatics
      Dr Asem Kasem
      (Assistant Professor)


  1. Research Excellence Award
    No recipients for the research Excellence Award for all Categories


  1. Administrative Excellence Award
    No recipients for the research Excellence Award for all Categories


  1. Special Mention
    1. Teaching Excellence Award Special Mention
      Dr Dayang Hajah Ena Kartina binti Haji Abdul Rahman
      (Assistant Professor from Faculty of Engineering)Dayang Liana Artini binti Haji Mohd Noor
      (Lecturer from UTB School of Business)

      Dr Dayang Wida Susanty binti Haji Suhaili
      (Senior Lecturer from School of Computing and Informatics)

  2.  Research Excellence Award Special Mention
    1. Early Career Academic Special Mention
      Dr SH Shah Newaz
      (Lecturer from School of Computing and Informatics)
    2. Research Excellence Award for Mid Career Academic Special Mention
      Dr Awang Au Thien Wan
      (Assistant Professor from School of Computing and Informatics)
    3. Research Excellence Award for Senior Academic Special Mention
      No recipients
  3.  Administrative Excellence Award Special Mention
    1. Management and Professional Special Mention
      Dayang Hajah Noorul Farizalina binti Abdul Karim
    2. Administrative Support Staff
      No recipients
    3. Technician
      No recipients



MOU Signing Ceremony and Industry Collaboration


Prior to the presentation of the Staff Excellence Awards, a signing ceremony of the Addendum to the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between UTB and Amec Foster Wheeler (Brunei) was held. The MOU was first signed on 16 November 2013 and this Addendum renews the collaboration between the two organisations with expanded scope of cooperation.


Signing the Addendum for UTB was the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dr. Dayang Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman, and witnessed by the Assistant Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Dr. Hajah Noormaya binti Haji Mohd Salleh. Meanwhile, Amec Foster Wheeler was represented by Dayang Leena Hariaty binti Haji Hasnan, Amec Foster Wheeler’s Local Business Development Manager and witnessed by Awang Ramli bin Ahad, Government Liaison Manager. The Addendum was signed in the presence of the Minister of Education.


This was then followed by the handing over of contribution from Schlumberger to UTB. The contribution was in the form of industry-standard Petroleum Engineering softwares which will enhance the capability for teaching and learning at undergraduate and postrgraduate levels and also research in the area of Petroleum Engineering in UTB. The contribution was presented by Mr Eric Voon, Managing Director of Schlumberger Brunei and received by Professor Dr. Dayang Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman.


Hari Raya Celebration

The ceremony concluded with a Hari Raya Celebration with the Minister of Education visiting the Hari Raya ‘open-booths’ set-up by the different programmes and sections of the University.


Close Menu