30 January 2020 – Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) officially inducted the new UTB Student Representative Council members (MPPUTB) [Translate: Majlis Perwakilan Pelajar UTB] for the 2020/2021 session during a handover ceremony that was held at the Multi-Purpose Hall, UTB.

The new council members recited their ceremonial pledge in the presence of the Guest of Honour, Yang Mulia Professor Dr. Dayang Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman, Vice-Chancellor of UTB. Also present were the Principal Officers, staff, students and parents of the new appointees.

The ceremony began with a farewell speech by the former President of MPPUTB Session 2019/2020, Yang Mulia Awangku Muhammad Wafiy bin Pengiran Haji Amir Isa. This was followed by the reading of pledge led by Yang Mulia Muhammad Aqil Fakhrullah bin Hj Azrol Azmin, the new elected President of MPPUTB Session 2020/2021.

The ceremony also celebrated the end of service for the previous batch of MPPUTB Session 2019/2020 members who were presented with certificates of acknowledgement by the Guest of Honour. A total of 70 certificates were presented to the retiring members of MPPUTB Session 2019/2020 to appreciate their untiring dedication and commitments throughout their one year of service.

Since the establishment of MPPUTB in 2011, the ceremony has been organised annually to officially introduce the new line of members of the Student Representative Council to the students and staff of the University. The members were appointed through an intensive selection process conducted by the alumni of MPPUTB and selected UTB staff which include a challenging leadership camp to further test their capabilities and expose them to better understand their tasks, roles and responsibilities as new leaders.

Close Menu