06 September 2018 –  ASEAN Data Science Explorer (ADSE) Competition 2018 was held today at the Lecture Theatre 2, Library Complex at Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB). UTB under the School of Computing and Informatics is the university partner for the competition.

The Guest of Honour was Yang Mulia Professor Dr. Dayang Hjh Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman the Vice-Chancellor, UTB. Also present were Yang Mulia Mr. Mahmudi Yusbi, Representative from ASEAN Foundation; Yang Mulia, Mr. Garry Ramlee bin Ibrahim, Acting Director, ASEAN Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam; Yang Mulia, Dayang Nur Alia Binti Haji A. Abdul Bari, Treasurer, Youth Against Slavery Brunei, Brunei Darussalam; and Yang Mulia, Mr Eugene Ho, Head of Corporate Affairs Southeast Asia, SAP, as the three Judges for the competition; UTB Principal Officers, staff, participants and students of the University.

Co-organized by ASEAN Foundation and SAP, the ASEAN Data Science Explorers 2018 aims to inspire and catalyze ASEAN youth activism. It targets tertiary students across all 10 ASEAN member states to harness the power of data, gain insights by leveraging the SAP Analytics Cloud and deliver ideas or recommendations to relevant ASEAN bodies. First introduced in 2017, the ASEAN Data Science Explorers (ADSE) is a data analytics competition that aims to enhance awareness and appreciation of the ASEAN community amongst young people through digital literacy intervention.  By using the SAP Analytics Cloud platform, the initiative encourages participants to deliver data-driven insights which highlight issues in ASEAN across six United Nation Sustainable Development Goals, namely good health and well-being; quality education; gender equality; industry, innovation and infrastructure; decent work and economic growth, and sustainable cities and communities.

With the theme “Today’s Youth for Tomorrow’s World”, this competition will allow all ASEAN youths to play a key role in tackling today’s social issues facing the region and help create positive change for a better future.

A total of seven teams competed in the competition from various Higher Education Institutions;

  1. BruGEN35 – Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB)
  2. Innovate – Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB)
  3. NsightZ – Universiti Brunei Darussalam(UBD)
  4. Mo-Re – Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB)
  5. PB – Politeknik Brunei (PB)
  6. UTB – Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB)
  7. Unknown – Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB)

First place is the team BruGen35. The prize was presented by Mr. Garry bin Ibrahim Acting Director, ASEAN Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Brunei Darussalam.

First Runner-up went to Innovate the prize is presented by Dr. Mohammad Saiful bin Haji Omar, the Deputy Dean of School of School of Computing and Informatics.

Second Runner-up went to Team PB and the prize was presented by Mr. Eugene Ho, Head of Corporate Affairs Southeast Asia, SAP.

The winner of the competition will represent Brunei Darussalam in the regional Finals that will be held in Singapore on the 25 October 2018.


Close Menu