6 August 2018 – A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between Universiti Teknologi Brunei (UTB) and Osaka University (OU) was signed on Monday, 6 August 2018 in Osaka, Japan. Representing UTB was UTB Vice-Chancellor, Professor Dr. Dayang Hajah Zohrah binti Haji Sulaiman, and for OU was President of Osaka University, Professor Dr. Shojiro Nishio.

Also present during the signing ceremony were Professor Dr. Genta Kawahara, Executive Vice-President and Mrs. Hajah Normah Suria Hayati binti Pehin Dato Haji Jamil, Collaborative Professor, Osaka University.

The MoU is following the signing of the Letter of Intent between UTB and Osaka University on 22 February 2018. According to Professor Dr. Dayang Hajah Zohrah in her speech at the ceremony, this international collaboration will address holistic and comprehensive programme which involve the exchange of students, improving the capability of Bruneian researchers to be of equivalent if not similar to International benchmark. She also said that she believes the collaboration will enable the universities to produce first class researchers.

The MoU also sees an opportunity for UTB and OU to offer joint or dual Master programmes and MSc by Research in relevant areas. She also said that UTB is motivated to contribute to technological collaboration between Brunei and Japan, as well as to develop teams for collaborative research and provide opportunities between Bruneian and Japanese Students.


Close Menu